The Melissani lake is about 2.5 km west of Sami. In the vicinity is the village Karavomylo located. The cave was only discovered, when a part of the ceiling collapsed during the earthquake of 1953. It is an impressive cave with stalactites. The part of the ceiling that collapsed creates a charming view. Phantastic colours appear, when the lake’s water is illuminated by the sun.
Address: Sami, Kefalonia, Greece
Opening hours: daily from 08:00 to 20:00
The grotto of Drongarati is one of the most impressive, geological sights of Kefalonia. Spelaeologists estimate the age of the grotto to be 150 million years! The grotto has been known since the 19th century, but was only opened for tourists in 1963. The grotto has suffered suffered demolition from the many earthquakes.
In the inside of the grotto leads a passageway to a natural porch with a view into a 100m² large hall with stalactites and stalagmites. The hall has perfect acoustics; at the end of the hall a podium was placed where famous artists performed in the grotto. Even today is this hall used for concerts.
Monastery of Agios Gerasimos
The monastery and the church of Agios Gerasimos are the most visited church of the island and lie in the vicinity of the villages Fragata and Valsamata. The monastery is dedicated to the Saint Gerasimos, who is also the patron of the village. His bones are kept there and on display for believers. On the 16th and the 20th october people from all over Kefalonia gather and celebrate their Saint.
Monastery Panagia Atrou
The island’s oldest monastery (first built in the 8th century) is Panagia Atrou. It was dedicated to the Virgin Mary and stands on a 500m high hill, a couple kilometres of Argostoli. The monastery was destroyed 17 times and every time rebuilt. It is also a good place to watch a sunrise.
Monastery of Agrilia
It was built in the 18th century, where in 1722 the icon of of Agios Theotokos was found. The two shepherds decided to live as monks after this found. High at the top of the hill, between olive trees, lies the monastery of Agrilia close to Sami. From there you can enjoy the beautiful view on the gulf of Sami and Ithaka.
Castle Agios Georgios
The castle of Agios Georgios, the first capital of the island from 1500 to 1757 (later Argostoli became the capital). The castle is located above the village Peratata on top of a 300m high hill, in the south, about 5 km of Argostoli.
Impressive is the fortified wall, which is about 600m long and 16000m² big and consists of 3 parts. Supposedly the wall was built in the 12th century by the Byzantines.
Roman Villa in Skala
The roman villa with warm water baths, from the 3rd century A.D. , was discovered during excavations in 1956 in Skala. Among the discoveries was found a discus-like stone from the 3rd century. On the well-preserved roman mosaics were scripts found, from the 3rd century, that display animal sacrifices.
Lighthouse Agios Theodoros
In 1829 was the classicistic lighthouse Agios Theodoros built. After the earthquake of 1953 it was rebuilt in use of the old column drums. In 1915 Great Britain genuinely considered to trade the right of use of the harbour for the island Cyprus.
Assos Castle/ Fortress
The castle of Assos is the capital of the northern part of Kefalonia and is today part of the European World Cultural Heritage. The castle is one of the largest Greece has to offer. Spend half a day there, explore the long walls, bastions and stone-tunnels. Afterwards you can visit the nearby beach Myrtos for refreshment.
Monument of British Administration
A historic monument is the symmetrical obelisk that is reminiscent of the time of the british rule from 1809 to 1864.